Increased Precautions We're Taking in Response to COVID-19

LAST UPDATED ON 12/17/2020

As updates on the impact of the coronavirus continue to be released, we want to take a moment to inform you of the heightened preventative measures we have put in place at Duffy's Napa Valley Rehab to keep our patients, their families, and our employees safe. All efforts are guided by and in adherence to the recommendations distributed by the CDC.

Please note that for the safety of our patients, their families, and our staff, on-site visitation is no longer allowed at Duffy's Napa Valley Rehab.

  • This restriction has been implemented in compliance with updated corporate and state regulations to further reduce the risks associated with COVID-19.
  • Options for telehealth visitation are continuously evaluated so that our patients can remain connected to their loved ones.
  • Alternate methods of communication for other services may be offered when deemed clinically appropriate.

For specific information regarding these changes and limitations, please contact us directly.

CDC updates are consistently monitored to ensure that all guidance followed is based on the latest information released.

  • All staff has received infection prevention and control training.
  • Thorough disinfection and hygiene guidance has been provided.
  • Patient care supplies such as masks and hand sanitizer are being monitored and utilized.
  • Temperature and symptom screening protocols are in place for all patients and staff.
  • Social distancing strategies have been implemented to ensure that patients and staff maintain proper distance from one another at all times.
  • Cleaning service contracts have been reviewed for additional support.
  • Personal protective equipment items are routinely checked to ensure proper and secure storage.
  • CDC informational posters are on display to provide important reminders on proper infection prevention procedures.
  • We are in communication with our local health department to receive important community-specific updates.

The safety of our patients, their families, and our employees is our top priority, and we will remain steadfast in our efforts to reduce any risk associated with COVID-19.

The CDC has provided a list of easy tips that can help prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue and then immediately dispose of the tissue.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth.
  • Clean and disinfect objects and surfaces that are frequently touched.
  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.
  • Stay home when you are sick, except to get medical care.

For detailed information on COVID-19, please visit

Drug Classifications: Schedule 1-5 Drugs

While the list of drugs is continually being updated (and each state can have its own list), there are five basic classifications, or schedules, of drugs: 

Since 1970 the United States has maintained the Controlled Substance Act in an effort to protect the general public from potentially dangerous and addictive drugs. Controlled substances give the government a way to organize and categorize different drugs, based on their tendency to be addictive or on their potential to harm the general public.



Schedule 1 drugs have no accepted medical use in the United States, and using schedule 1 drugs can put a person at a high risk for developing a substance use disorder. Some familiar drugs assigned a schedule 1 class include: 


Using schedule 2 drugs can also put a person at a high risk for developing a substance use disorder. This class of drugs includes both illicit and prescription drugs.  

However, it’s important to note that when an individual takes prescription schedule 2 drugs as directed and under a doctor’s supervision, their risk for developing a substance use disorder is minimized. Some familiar drugs in the schedule 2 class include: 

  • Cocaine 
  • Morphine 
  • Hydrocodone (Vicodin) 
  • Hyrdomorphone (Dilaudid) 
  • Oxycodone (OxyContin, Percocet) 
  • Meperidine (Demerol) 
  • Fetanyl 
  • Methadone
  • Methamphetamine 
  • Adderall
  • Ritalin
  • Official list of Schedule 2 drugs


Using schedule 3 drugs puts a person at a lower risk for developing a substance use disorder than schedule 1 and 2 drugs but at a higher risk than schedule 4 and 5 drugs. Medical providers often prescribe schedule 3 drugs for illnesses, injuries, and other health-related reasons. Some familiar drugs in the schedule 3 class include: 

  • Ketamine 
  • Anabolic steroids 
  • Buprenorphine (Suboxone) 
  • Codeine and hydrocodone products mixed with aspirin or acetaminophen 
  • Official list of Schedule 3 drugs


Drugs that are classified as schedule 4 are often prescribed medications, and when a person uses schedule 4 drugs, they are at a very low risk for developing a substance use disorderSome familiar drugs in the schedule 4 class include: 


Schedule 5 drugs are also generally prescribed medications, and people have a lower risk for developing a substance use disorder when they use schedule 5 drugs than when they use schedule 4 drugsSome familiar drugs in the schedule 5 class include: 


The schedule of drugs refers primarily to a drug’s accepted medical use and the likelihood that a drug will cause a person to develop a substance use disorder. Drugs are also classified by their chemical makeup and the way they interact with the brain and body. 

Some common classifications include: 

  • Depressants 
  • Hallucinogens 
  • Inhalants 
  • Narcotics 
  • Steroids 
  • Stimulants